English عربي Русский Español Français Português

The Oil Companies International Marine Forum

The Oil Companies International Marine Forum (OCIMF) is a voluntary association of oil companies having an interest in the shipment and terminalling of crude oil and oil products.

OCIMF’s mission is to be the foremost authority on the safe and environmentally responsible operation of oil tankers and terminals, promoting continuous improvement in standards of design and operation.
OCIMF was formed at a meeting in London on 8 April 1970. It was initially the oil industry’s response to increasing public awareness of marine pollution, particularly by oil, after the Torrey Canyon incident.
Governments had reacted to this incident by debating the development of international conventions and national legislation and the oil industry sought to play its part by making its professional expertise available and its views known to governmental and inter-governmental bodies. The role of OCIMF has broadened over the intervening period. Most recently the organisation has contributed to the EU discussion on tanker safety and the draft EU Directive on Environmental Liability, and has provided support to the European Union (EU) and the International Maritime Organization (IMO) debate on the accelerated phasing out of single-hull tankers and on the carriage of heavy grades of oil.
OCIMF was incorporated in Bermuda in 1977 and a branch office was established in London primarily to maintain contact with the IMO. The current membership of OCIMF comprises 98 companies worldwide.
The officers of OCIMF comprise a Chairman and three Vice-Chairmen, all of whom are elected at the Annual General Meeting of OCIMF member companies. A committee structure with the Executive Committee at its head and three senior standing committees reporting to it was established. The senior standing committees may establish Sub-Committees or Forums as necessary.
The Executive Committee is the senior policymaking Committee of OCIMF. The membership of the Executive Committee is limited to a maximum of 15 members plus the Chairman and Vice Chairmen who are ex officio members. Members of the Executive Committee are elected at the Annual General Meeting. Present chairman is Dr. Grahaeme Henderson from Shell.
A full-time Director, currently Captain Andrew Cassels from BP, is in charge of a small permanent Secretariat located in London. This Secretariat comprises full-time employees and technical staff seconded from member companies.
The work of OCIMF is carried out through four main Committees (General Purposes Committee (GPC), Ports and Terminals Committee, Offshore Marine Committee and the Legal Committee. Sub-Committees, Forums, work groups and task forces composed of members’ representatives and assisted by the Secretariat.
Please follow and like us: